Web Variety: the “Why” Edition

Web Variety Field

It’s been far too long since I’ve done a round up of Web Variety. It’s not that there hasn’t been content worth sharing, it’s just that my last several weekends have launched me into frantic work-mode before I could get one made. So without further ado, Web Variety: the “Why” edition:

Why Christians Should Read Fiction – “Fiction can sometimes…awaken parts of us that we have calloused over, due to ignorance or laziness or inattention or sin.” Russel Moore talks to us about the importance of stories in our moral development and our understanding scripture. God is the greatest story-teller, go figure.

Why Baptism? – I actually linked to this video yesterday, but wanted to share it again because I liked it so much. Jason Miller of Granger Community Church speaks in clear, no-nonsense terms about the beauty and necessity of water baptism. I was weeping by the end.

Why Envy is a Danger for the YRR – (YRR=Young, Restless, and Reformed Movement). “We kill envy when we remember that whether we succeed or whether someone else does is ultimately given from the God who reigns from heaven. And how dare we assault his wisdom by murmuring about the opportunities and success of others.” Joe Rigley at Desiring God writes good lessons for us all.

Alright, so I’m cheating with the titles on these last two. But this was how they were first presented to me:

Why Do We Love Maggie Smith So Much? – Because she’s the Dowager Countess of Grantham of course! Gena Dalfanzo at Christianity Today explores why women of all ages seem to be flocking to this character on the hit PBS drama Downton Abbey. Well, it’s probably pretty obvious now that I’m a huge Downton fan…take that or leave it. Dalfanzo writes: “With her old-fashioned perspective and her stiff upper lip—”Don’t be defeatist, dear, it’s very middle-class”—she reminds us that some values are timeless and should never be discarded, even as we’re attempting to keep up with the times.”

Why You Should Love Baseball – In all seriousness, reading this article caused me to send a text message to my younger sister (a longtime baseball fan) saying this: “I’ve decided I want to love baseball.” Congratulations Kevin DeYoung–with no prior desire to involve myself in any sport whatsoever, you’ve won me over to the point of following my local baseball team on Twitter. Read it, you’ll see what I mean. (HT Mike Leake, thanks!)

“Literature is a luxury; fiction is a necessity.”
-G.K. Chesterton, Defendent

Have thoughts? Make a comment!

