I definitely want this song at my funeral. I know it’s morbid, but I think about my funeral a lot since my dad’s. I think about what I hope people will say. I think about how I want the Gospel proclaimed as clearly and as freely as it was at my dad’s. And since I’m a musical person, I think about what songs I want. I’ve always thought I would like this Switchfoot song since first hearing it on The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian soundtrack. I imagine myself singing it from beyond the grave back to those left behind grieving:

I’ve got my memories
They’re always inside of me
But I can’t go back
Back to how it was

I believe it now
I’ve come too far
Now I can’t go back
Back to how it was

Created for a place
I’ve never known

This is home
Now I’m finally where I belong
Where I belong

Yeah, this is home
I’ve been searching for a place of my own
Now I’ve found it
Maybe this is home
Yeah, this is home

My great hope is that I will, at that point, have been welcomed into the Kingdom by my Heavenly Father. Because of Jesus Christ, I, like my dad, have hope beyond this life.

In a recent teaching at the Ligonier National Conference, teacher and preacher Steven Lawson made a statement, just in passing, that made a profound impact on me. He said that the word “departure” in 2 Timothy 4:6 is a euphemism for going home after having been away a long time. The verse says:

For I am already being poured out as a drink offering, and the time of my departure has come. I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.

It is really a classic funeral text. And I’ve always thought of the word “departure” in this context as leaving home on a journey. But when I looked up the definition of the Greek word in Thayer’s Lexicon, one of the definitions was just as Dr. Lawson said:

“departure, a metaphor drawn from loosing from moorings, preparatory to setting sail…breaking up an encampment.”

Isn’t that amazing? I think even as Christians we tend to think of this life as our home and death as departing onto a journey into the unknown. But we are actually weighing anchor to set sail for home. We’re breaking camp, packing up our tents, and heading back home from the woods. As Christians we have something to look forward to–we ought to set our eyes on these things yet to come.

Belief over misery
I’ve seen the enemy
And I won’t go back
Back to how it was

And I’ve got my heart set
On what happens next
I’ve got my eyes wide
It’s not over yet
We are miracles
And we’re not alone

We fear that exiting this world will be a foreign experience, but we were created in God’s image. We are eternal beings at the core. I have to refer again back to C.S. Lewis in Reflections on the Psalms. He infers our eternality by referencing the temporal:

For we are so little reconciled to time that we are even astonished at it. “How he’s grown!” we exclaim, “How time flies!” as though the universal form of our experience were again and again a novelty. It is as strange as if a fish were repeatedly surprised at the wetness of water. And that would be strange indeed; unless of course the fish were destined to become, one day, a land animal. (p.138)

He is not here making an argument for Darwinian evolution. He’s making the point that the reason we feel weird here in time is because we’re destined for eternity. We are actually land animals, only here in the water temporarily. And for we who are in Christ, that eternity is more beautiful and more glorious than we can imagine!

One day we will need no sun because the light of God’s glory will shine brighter. One day we will dry off the wetness of earthbound time and walk upright in our natural habitat: the land of eternity. One day we will weigh anchor and set sail for our homeland. One day we will see the Celestial City and be able to finally lay down our packs. One day we will see God with unveiled faces and it will not feel foreign–it will feel like fresh-baked chocolate chip cookies, coffee, couches, and fireplaces. It will feel like home.

________________________________________________

And now
After all my searching
After all my questions
I’m gonna call it home

I’ve got a brand new mindset
I can finally see the sunset
I’m gonna call it home

Weigh Anchor

This is Home

2 thoughts on “This is Home

  1. This is what I need to meditate on every day. To set your affections on things above not on things of the earth and to remember that we are in the world not of it are two other things the Lord taught us. Thank you, Tricia for your meditations. I love you.

Have thoughts? Make a comment!

