Strength in Weakness

This weekend’s sermon inspired me to poetry! I like to write a sermon reflection of some kind after Sunday service because I always have much to digest and this was just bubbling on my insides. Our pastor preached on “Strength in Weakness” out of Romans 8:26-27.

___________________________________________________________

Empty, foolish, wretch I am
Crawling desperate to the well of grace
A parched throat

A Scorched life

I am helpless

Even in prayer I am feeble
Grappling for shrouded words in a clouded mind
Tongue like lead

Heart like a caged bird

I am restless

But O sweet providence
The Spirit strives with me in weakness
God himself the Mediator with groanings

Too deep

For words

.

.

.

.

Therefore I will cheerfully brag of weakness
God’s ample fountain of grace quenches my deepest need
In Christ;

Sin forgiven

I am content

Romans 8:26

Photo credit: MB Photography

Have thoughts? Make a comment!

