When Things Go Wrong

Light

Yesterday was one of those days when you get thrown a curve ball, and then subsequently ten more until you end up standing on one leg, juggling, and holding on by the skin of your teeth. To make a long story short, everyone, including our lead pastor, was sick and we had to change everything last minute. As the worship leader, I open the service and set the tone. Last minute changes can be stressful to say the least.

With each passing week I learn more about leading worship and this week I learned something very important: the Holy Spirit is more than capable of leading His people. I know this to be true because Jesus says so:

When the Spirit of truth comes, he will guide you into all the truth, for he will not speak on his own authority, but whatever he hears he will speak, and he will declare to you the things that are to come. He will glorify me, for he will take what is mine and declare it to you. All that the Father has is mine; therefore I said that he will take what is mine and declare it to you. (John 16:13-15)

I know and understand that I can’t awaken anyone’s heart to the truth of the Gospel by my song choices, eloquent explanations of lyrics, smooth transitions, or even by lighting or visual theatrics. It is God who illuminates His word:

For God, who said,  “Let light shine out of darkness,” has shone in our hearts to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ. (2 Corinthians 4:6)

And it is God who reorders our affections:

And I will give you a new heart, and a new spirit I will put within you. And I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh.  And I will put my Spirit within you, and cause you to walk in my statutes and be careful to obey my rules. (Ezekiel 36:26-27)

We pray fervently every week for the Spirit to do what only He can do. But it’s good every once in awhile to be thrown into a bit of a panic, where all my prep-time and previous rehearsal count for nothing, and then watch how the Spirit works. *Amazingly* (that’s sarcasm) He still can affect people’s hearts, even when I’m scrambling.

Our founding pastor stepped in and delivered a marvelous impromptu message about God’s healing. He invited folks to come forward for prayer and many MANY people responded. I hope to hear testimonies later about how God is healing their bodies and working in their hearts.

One thought on “When Things Go Wrong

  1. It was quite the experience to see how the Spirit really smoothed over our “rough” transitions and gaps. I really think that preparation and stewardship over ministries is important, but learning to boast in our weaknesses so the power of Christ can rest on us is more important.

Have thoughts? Make a comment!

