Reviving the Blog…

…with a status report. It has been over a year — a busy year full of grace, sorrow, and lots of life.  I welcome 2013.  Currently I am:

Sitting:  on the couch with a dog’s face creeping steadily into my line of vision.  She not only insists on occupying the exact space you are occupying, but she is also fascinated with the movement of the mouse and/or cursor on the screen.  Still, I relish her fuzzy warmth.

Dreading:  having to work outside tomorrow.  Should be a balmy 32 degrees.  

Enjoying:  a mostly clean house after having taken down our real Christmas tree this weekend (needles EVERYWHERE).  And still enjoying some winter decor I left out until I can justify putting out spring things.

Thinking:  about all the wonderful and exciting things I want to do in the next year.  Including but not limited to: reading, writing, music, and visiting family.

ReadingThe Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien.  And it’s phenomenal.  I am not usually a sci/-fi fantasy fiction type when it comes to reading, so this book has been a great introduction for me.  Of course I’ve read Narnia, but does that really count?  Anyway I’m reading it because of the movie and, as usual, it’s light years better.

Digesting:  the delicious chicken cordon bleu my husband and I made for dinner.  We finally make a good team in the kitchen (it took some doing).

Thankful:  for the two years of marriage that we celebrated yesterday.  Two years have flown by and also seem like two lifetimes. 

Missing:  my dad.  Maybe I’ll do a whole post about him sometime.  My dad passed away after a year and a half battle with esophageal cancer in November 2012.  He was a great man – a strong believer, a faithful husband, and a loving father.  Even though my family feels robbed of the additional precious time we could have spent with him, two things I know for sure: one is that my dad is with the Lord (1 Corinthians 5:8) and the second is that God is both sovereign and good, and He works all things together for good for those who love him and are called according to his purposes (Romans 8:28).

Many blessings to you and yours in this new year!

Have thoughts? Make a comment!

